Rajshahi division

Rajshahi division, the prestigious division renowned for spreading the light of education in the ancient period, has been doing exceedingly well with 18,175 square kilometers and a population of 18,484,858 while the male-female ratio stands chronologically 51.53%: 48.47%. (according to both Bangladesh population census 2011 and District census 2011).


Rajshahi division possesses eight districts (the divisional district) with the country’s highest literacy rate (99.50%-2011) and seventy sub-districts.  The core town of the division was established in the eighteenth century.  Then the core town was ameliorated to a city corporation in 1991. After many incidents and consequences, the greater Rajshahi division fall prey to segregation and got split into two. The particular segregation event created a new division ( a new administrative territory) on 25 January 1910.


Rajshahi division geographically is positioned at in between 23º48’ and 25º16’ north latitudes and in between 88º01’ and 89º48’ east longitudes and shares a border with the provincial state  West Bengal of India and hedged by Dinajpur and Gaibandha district of Rangpur division on the north, by Rajbari and Kushtia districts on the

south, by Jamalpur, Tangail, and Manikganj district on the east and the west by the West Bengal of India.


Rajshahi division recently managed to stand first in the fresh air index and received the status of the territory with the cleanest air. Naogaon, one of the districts under the administrative Rajshahi division, is called the storehouse of food (Bangladesh).


Rajshahi division is exceptionally enriched with two major rivers (of the whole Bangladesh) Padma and Jamuna flowing through its chest and numerous historical landmarks, tourist places, and magical, incredible architectural beauties. Notable entities incorporate Sompur Bihar (a gargantuan monastery of Buddhist people), Borendro- Barendra research museum (A museum promoting the history of ancient Bengal), Mahasthangarh ( archaeological asset of Bangladesh), Puthia temple complex (houses of the erstwhile landlords), Bagha mosque, Lokma Rajbari of  Joypurhat, Nator Uttara  Ganabhaban (The palace of the queen of Dighapatia), Chalan bill (the largest swamp valley of the country) and many more.


Still, the primary source of income of the division is agriculture.


Rajshahi Division

District Area(km2) Population Established
Bogra 2920      29,88,567 1821
Chapainawabganj 1702.56 16,47,521 1984
Joypurhat 965.44 9,50,441 1984
Naogaon 3,435.67 26,00,157 1984
Natore 1896.05 17,06,673 1984
Pabna 2371.50 22,60,540 1828
Rajshahi 2407.01 23,77,314 1772
Sirajganj 2497.92 16,13,173 1984

বাংলাকোষে লিখুন, আয় করুন... [email protected] 
বিঃদ্রঃ বাংলাকোষ কোনো সংবাদপত্র নয়, এটি মূলত একটি আর্কাইভ। বাংলাকোষ এ প্রকাশিত সকল তথ্য কপিরাইট এর অন্তর্ভুক্ত। সুতরাং কোনো পূর্বানুমতি ছাড়া বাংলাকোষের কোনো তথ্য ব্যবহার করা যাবে না। তবে অব্যবসায়িক প্রতিষ্ঠানগুলো সূত্রসহ ব্যবহার করতে পারবে।