Dhaka Division

Dhaka division, the second-largest division of the eight administrative divisions of Bangladesh, possesses thirteen districts and around six million people living in the division. Dhaka division, the administrative territory, contains and nourishes Bangladesh’s capital city, not recessively but directly, which is the center of politics of the whole country and the central hub of the commercial, industrial and educational interest.


Dhaka division (the administrative divisional territory) formed in 1829, got split in 2015. And that incident of segregation created a new division attribute, “Mymensingh,” which played a crucial role in reducing Dhaka to almost 11,000 square kilometers of administrative territory. Before 2015, the division (administration) covered an area of 31,051 square kilometers. Before 2015, the Dhaka division was used to maintain a total of seventeen districts. However, four joined the new divisional territory attributed to Mymensingh. Five more are still brewing to be detached from the greater Dhaka division for making the initiation of a new divisional entity, “Faridpur,” successful. (The five adjacent to the south of Ganga/Padma river).


Dhaka division is home to thousands of historical and cultural heritage of Bangladesh. Albeit the divisional territory attributed to Dhaka is the worst habitat to live in according to different census and fresh air index, Dhaka has always been a miracle territory to turn people’s fate and create thousands of livelihoods ( jobs)  around the region. And especially the division has been doing exceedingly well with an area of 20,509 square kilometers.


Dhaka division geographically is positioned at the central point of Bangladesh and hedged on the north by Mymensingh division, on the south by Barisal division, on the east and southeast by Barisal division, to its northeast is Sylhet division.


A division with innumerable mosques and around seven lakh rickshaws must have something fascinating to offer. A thousand significant historical and tourist places exist in the division, and a very few of them incorporates the beautiful Star Mosque (Tara Masjid), Dhakeshwari Temple and Lalbagh Fort existing in Dhaka city; the Kalinarayana Temple and Vawal Rajbari of Joydebpur; and the wari bateshwar ruins of the Narsingdi district.


According to the district census, 2011 and the Bangladesh population census 2011, Dhaka division managed to maintain an average Literacy rate of 43.44% while the male-female ratio stands chronologically 46.80%: 40.80% and yet the primary source of income is agriculture despite people prone to choosing a different diversified profession.

Dhaka Division
District Area(km2) Population Established
Dhaka 1,463.6 12,043,977 1772
Faridpur 2,072.72 1,912,969 1786
Gazipur 1,741.53 3,403,912 1984
Gopalgonj 1,468.74 1,172,415 1984
Kishoreganj 2688.59 30,28,706 1984
Madaripur 1,144.96 1,212,198 1984
Manikganj 1,383.66 1,671,985 1984
Munshiganj 954.96 1,445,660 1984
Narayanganj 683.14 2,948,217 1984
Narsingdi 1140.76 1895984 1984
Rajbari 1,118.8 912,969 1984
Shariatpur 1181.53 1,155,824 1984
Tangail 3,414.28 3,749,085 1969

বাংলাকোষে লিখুন, আয় করুন... [email protected] 
বিঃদ্রঃ বাংলাকোষ কোনো সংবাদপত্র নয়, এটি মূলত একটি আর্কাইভ। বাংলাকোষ এ প্রকাশিত সকল তথ্য কপিরাইট এর অন্তর্ভুক্ত। সুতরাং কোনো পূর্বানুমতি ছাড়া বাংলাকোষের কোনো তথ্য ব্যবহার করা যাবে না। তবে অব্যবসায়িক প্রতিষ্ঠানগুলো সূত্রসহ ব্যবহার করতে পারবে।