Mymensingh Division

Amid the publication of a government gazette on 13 October 2015, the Mymensingh division got established comprising four districts including the divisional district Mymensingh but with no official activities.

Erstwhile Prime minister Sheikh Hasina proclaimed the settlement of a new administrative division “Mymensingh”, on 12 January 2015 which is the eighth division of Bangladesh and the last one till the time of the writing of the divisional description.

The primary scheme and objective were to amalgamate the correspondingly concerned six districts those were incorporated under the quondam administrative Mymensingh district (1787) and the territory of greater Mymensingh at the time of British reign incorporating Mymensingh, Netrokona, Jamalpur, Sherpur, KishoreGanj and Tangail While all these regions administratively served under Dhaka Division covering the northern part of the quondam Dhaka division. While four out of six districts showed interest to move out from the administrative Dhaka and wanted to be the part of a newly formed division and other two (Kishoreganj and Tangail) showed apathy, on 14 September 2015, Mymensingh was officially pronounced as a division comprising four districts and started all the administrative activities.

Mymensingh division has been doing stunning and astounding with an area of 10,584 square Kilometers and a population of 11,370,000. (2011 Population consensus).

The whole process of the constitution of the new administrative division Mymensingh Was followed by NICAR(National Implementation Committee for Administrative Reforms). NICAR was the first to propose the reformation of Mymensingh division as well.

Remarkably,  the prime minister works as the chair of NICAR.

Mymensingh is one of the divisions sharing a border with the Meghalaya province of India and possesses no airport.  Kangsha river is a notable river of the Mymensingh Division.

List of District of Mymensingh Division
District Area(km2) Population Established
Jamalpur 2031.98 2,292,674 1978
Mymensingh 4363.48 5,210,272 1787
Netrokona 2,794.28 2,229,642 1984
Sherpur 1363.76 15,42.610 1984

Written & Edited by Niaz Mahmud Sakib

বাংলাকোষে লিখুন, আয় করুন... [email protected] 
বিঃদ্রঃ বাংলাকোষ কোনো সংবাদপত্র নয়, এটি মূলত একটি আর্কাইভ। বাংলাকোষ এ প্রকাশিত সকল তথ্য কপিরাইট এর অন্তর্ভুক্ত। সুতরাং কোনো পূর্বানুমতি ছাড়া বাংলাকোষের কোনো তথ্য ব্যবহার করা যাবে না। তবে অব্যবসায়িক প্রতিষ্ঠানগুলো সূত্রসহ ব্যবহার করতে পারবে।